King David: Warrior and Poet After God’s Own Heart (18)

God’s Promise to David (2)

2 Samuel 7:11b-17

“‘The Lord declares to you that the Lord himself will establish a house for you:12 When your days are over and you rest with your ancestors, I will raise up your offspring to succeed you, your own flesh and blood, and I will establish his kingdom. 13 He is the one who will build a house for my Name, and I will establish the throne of his kingdom forever. 14 I will be his father, and he will be my son. When he does wrong, I will punish him with a rod wielded by men, with floggings inflicted by human hands. 15 But my love will never be taken away from him, as I took it away from Saul, whom I removed from before you. 16 Your house and your kingdom will endure forever before me; your throne will be established forever.’”

17 Nathan reported to David all the words of this entire revelation.

Significant ambiguity occurs in this passage due to the mixing of the temporal and eternal perspectives.  On the eternal side, in verse 16 God appears to be speaking about the Messianic kingdom of our Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ.  Jesus Christ taught that He was the eternal temple of God in Mark 14:58 and John 2:19.  On the temporal side, God speaks about His relationship with David’s offspring, who are certain to sin.

I do not presume to be able to untangle the temporal and eternal aspects of this prophecy.  Rather, my intention is to focus on King David’s response to it, which will be taken up in the next post.

 

Leave a Reply

