King David: Warrior and Poet After God’s Own Heart (16)

Accepting My Own Limitations

David’s story consumes half of 1 Samuel, all of 2 Samuel and the opening of 1 Kings.  Given that just the first three chapters of David’s story have consumed fifteen posts, I estimate that complete coverage would consume between 150 and 200 additional posts.  I’m doubtful that I could continue to deliver commentary that doesn’t become boring (or, perhaps more honestly, more boring) and repetitive.

So, by accepting my own limitations in this effort, my plan is to cover only the following Scriptural passages.  My emphasis is on King David the poet, though there will be one important excursion into King David the sinner.  Following is my plan of coverage:

  • 2 Samuel 7 – God’s Promise to David and David’s Prayer
  • 2 Samuel 11 – David and Bathsheba
  • 2 Samuel 12 – Nathan Rebukes David
  • 2 Samuel 22 – David’s Song of Praise
  • 2 Samuel 23:1-7 – The Last Words of David

As you can see, I’m jumping from 1 Samuel 18 to 2 Samuel 7, which amounts to 20 chapters!  A tremendous and wonderful narrative concerning David’s pursuit by King Saul, rise to Kinghood and early reign is thus being skipped over.

However, it is my hope that the above selected passages will enable David’s story to be roughed out and God’s purposes explored.

Leave a Reply

