God’s Acts of Providence (39)

Becoming the Apostle Paul (6)

In Arabia

The consensus timeline of Saul’s post-conversion life places him in Arabia between visits to Damascus.

Galatians 1:15-17

1 15But when he who had set me apart before I was born, and had called me through his grace, 16was pleased to reveal his Son to me, in order that I might preach him among the Gentiles, I did not confer with flesh and blood, 17nor did I go up to Jerusalem to those who were apostles before me, but I went away into Arabia; and again I returned to Damascus.

Paul’s letter to the Galatians is likely one of his earliest Epistles.  Note that he is already working out the implications of God’s selectivity from his converson experience.  Later Epistles will deliver his detailed views on Predestination.

Back to Damascus

Acts 9:23-25

9 23When many days had passed, the Jews plotted to kill him, 24but their plot became known to Saul. They were watching the gates day and night, to kill him; 25but his disciples took him by night and let him down over the wall, lowering him in a basket.

Once Saul’s past colleagues become convinced of the authenticity of his conversion they turn on him in murderous rage.

Leave a Reply

