What’s to be Done? (Part 8)

Image-credit-H.Koppdelaney-via-Photopin-ccFighting Back

Peace I leave with you; my peace I give to you; not as the world gives do I give to you. Let not your hearts be troubled, neither let them be afraid. (John 14:27)

… fear not, for I am with you,
    be not dismayed, for I am your God;
I will strengthen you, I will help you,
    I will uphold you with my victorious right hand.  (Isaiah 41:10)

The Means (5 of 5)

I’ve probably made it reasonably clear that those with whom contend are capable of doing fearful things to our good names and/or livelihoods.  However, were we to add up all the power, real and imagined, of our opponents, I would be flabbergasted were it to approach even 1% of that held by the Roman Empire when Jesus Christ said:

 I have said this to you, that in me you may have peace. In the world you have tribulation; but be of good cheer, I have overcome the world. (John 16:33)

Which brings me to the final point in our means to fight back against the tidal wave that approaches.

5. Overcome fear through trust in God

Yes, the atheists, pagans and post-christians appear to have occupied all the power-positions in our institutions — education, government, press, entertainment, courts and some mainline denominations, among others.  Yet, they must face the fact that there are tens of millions of Americans who continue to live lives of Christian faith.  Some of these Christians are living and working in the very institutions that appear to be long gone.

Compare this to the few thousands of Christians in the early first century living in a 50 million strong Roman world, with centuries of paganism behind their religion and the overwhelming power of the world’s greatest empire in effective opposition to this tiny, poor and new community.

And yet, in the space of four centuries the Roman Empire had accepted Christianity as its official religion.

ebbe758b02b239778d6e25a22262f8f6We are not today seeking to make Christianity the official religion of the Unites States.  However, we are insisting that our Christian faith is not beholden to any religious, political or social movement that demands our submission.

I don’t know what tomorrow brings.  But I do trust that God, Father, Son and Holy Spirit, is in control.  It’s not our place to know how, when or why God will prevail.  It is our place to live lives of faithfulness and trust in our Lord and Savior for however long we are granted to toil here on earth.  Let’s get on with doing that together, as the Body of Christ!

Leave a Reply

