The Future of Orthodox Christianity in the United States

White House lights up rainbow colors to celebrate SCOTUS ruling | TheHill

The White House Bathed in Rainbow Colors, Celebrating the Supreme Court Ruling on Gay Marriage

With its recent 5-4 ruling on gay marriage the Supreme Court has given official approval to the dominant secular culture in the United States.  This culture has been in de facto dominance for many decades.  This now officially sanctioned culture is defined by:

  • atomized individual sovereignty over all aspects of life
  • open rejection of standards that claim origin in religious revelation
  • active persecution of individuals and groups who deviate from the dominant culture’s norms
  • moral authority based primarily on identity and feelings
  • post-modern deconstruction of language and knowledge into a means of emotional manipulation to achieve any end
  • conviction that external reality must reconfigure itself to conform to whatever desires or beliefs that they hold at any point in time
  • dehumanizing contempt for anyone who opposes the current party line
  • reliance on overt government power to coerce compliance by all to their world view.

Make no mistake, this dominant culture is utterly antagonistic towards orthodox Christianity.  It has no intention of leaving orthodox Christians alone to practice their faith.  With the Supreme Court’s decision it will move forward with new confidence and vigor to stamp out any and all opposition.

This is not just my personal opinion.  Commenters from organizations as diverse as Time

The alarm that the four dissenting justices sounded in their minority opinions is chilling.

and The Federalist 

“As a result of Friday’s ruling…” Six simple words to turn dissent into sedition. … to justify anything in the name of the state.

agree on this point.

The PCUSA has officially accommodated itself to this dominant secular culture.  My concern is that accommodation will transform into open collaboration in the near future.  Remaining orthodox Christians, acknowledging the incompatibility between this secular culture and their Christian beliefs will be forced to make a decision on which way to go.

Who can claim knowledge of God’s infinite, sovereign mind?  Certainly not me.  However, Christ’s letter to the church at Laodicea (Revelation 3:14-22) has a fresh relevance today.

14 “And to the angel of the church in La-odice′a write: ‘The words of the Amen, the faithful and true witness, the beginning of God’s creation.

15 “‘I know your works: you are neither cold nor hot. Would that you were cold or hot! 16 So, because you are lukewarm, and neither cold nor hot, I will spew you out of my mouth. 17 For you say, I am rich, I have prospered, and I need nothing; not knowing that you are wretched, pitiable, poor, blind, and naked. 18 Therefore I counsel you to buy from me gold refined by fire, that you may be rich, and white garments to clothe you and to keep the shame of your nakedness from being seen, and salve to anoint your eyes, that you may see. 19 Those whom I love, I reprove and chasten; so be zealous and repent. 20 Behold, I stand at the door and knock; if any one hears my voice and opens the door, I will come in to him and eat with him, and he with me. 21 He who conquers, I will grant him to sit with me on my throne, as I myself conquered and sat down with my Father on his throne. 22 He who has an ear, let him hear what the Spirit says to the churches.’” (RSV)

For four uninterrupted centuries it has been a clear social benefit to identify yourself as a Christian, first in the colonies and then in the United States.  With its recent ruling the Supreme Court may well have brought down the curtain on that period.  We have passively and carelessly floated along on a social current that we assumed would always be to our advantage.  That false dream has been shattered.  God is indeed patent and forgiving, but ultimately He will not be mocked.  I believe that He may now be bringing us to the place of testing.

May God have mercy upon our souls.

Leave a Reply

