The Person and Purpose of Our Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ (1 of 3)

Some readers at this point may have concluded that this is all so ridiculous that there seems no point in the investment of any more time. Others may be wondering when I’ll finally say something that they don’t already know. But some are likely perplexed, seeing aspects that have the ring of truth but off put by the apparent strangeness and improbability.

Regardless of the reader’s current position, the ultimate issue here is the person and purpose of our Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ. That is, who is He and what has He done? If Jesus Christ is just a great teacher and moral man, then he is nothing more than one source of good information and inspiration among others. If Jesus Christ is an idea in some people’s minds that should be leveraged to justify the positions of an elite group, then he is nothing other than one more means by which to win an argument.

But, what if Jesus Christ, and our relationship to Him, is in reality that of the first answer in the Heidelberg Catechism?

That I belong—body and soul, in life and in death—not to myself but to my faithful Savior, Jesus Christ, who at the cost of his own blood has fully paid for all my sins and has completely freed me from the dominion of the devil; that he protects me so well that without the will of my Father in heaven not a hair can fall from my head; indeed, that everything must fit his purpose for my salvation. Therefore, by his Holy Spirit, he also assures me of eternal life, and makes me wholeheartedly willing and ready from now on to live for him.

Leave a Reply

